International Human Rights Day

press releases

Human Rights Day would have been celebrated - PFII
UN's human rights record challenged
AOS caucus calls for progress on self-determination

Caucus appeals to Russian President

General Assembly missed opportunity - Stavenhagen

IPACC quotes African Charter on Rights
Namibia slammed for killing UN rights resolution
Civil society organisations condemn delay on Declaration
UNGA fails to bring hope to Indigenous Peoples
Tonatierra defends right of self-determination
Defenders of human rights must support indigenous rights
States are acting irresponsibly - NWAC
Canada accused of disgraceful, disgusting conduct at UN
ILRC continue fight to adopt Declaration
Africa denies Saami and Inuit rights to self-determination
Third Committee defers action on indigenous declaration
Key UN committee delays action on declaration

General Assembly President, HE Madame Sheika Heya Rashed Al Khalifa, receives greetings from Indigenous delegate, Jose Carlos Morales. The President listened to requests that the Indigenous Peoples be acknowledged in the General Assembly when the Declaration is formally adopted.

for more information
on the Declaration

Permanent Forum on
Indigenous Issues

Office of the High Commissioner
for Human Rights

Documentation Centre
for Indigenous Peoples

Tebtebba Foundation

International Indian Treaty Council

American Indian Law Alliance

International Work Group
for Indigenous Affairs

Rights and Democracy

Amnesty International, Canada

University of Minnesota
Human Rights Library

(Download Kit)

Letter to States by
Special Rapporteur & Chair of PFII

Letter to States by
Indigenous Peoples Caucus

Letter to States by
Ambassadors to UN

Ten Key Points

Declaration (download)

How States voted in the
Human Rights Council

13 October 2006

View Webcast Video - 42 minutes

This media conference occurred at the UN on 13 October 2006 to discuss the Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples including its history, significance and current status.

H.E. Mr Enrique Berruga, Permanent Representative of Mexico;
Mr Aqqaluk Lynge

Innuit Circumpolar Conference
Mr Kent Lebsock
Executive Director
American Indian Law Alliance
Ms Elsa Stamatopoulou
Chief, Secretariat, UN Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues;


NWAC is deeply disturbed with the outcome of the United Nations vote on the Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples

November 29, 2006 - More than two decades of work to advance international human rights standards for the safety and well-being of Indigenous peoples including the human rights of Indigenous women was defeated in a vote against the Declaration today by the Third Committee of the UN General Assembly.

'The States who voted against the Declaration, including Canada, are utterly irresponsible and the result is disturbing for all Indigenous Peoples around the world,' says Beverly Jacobs, president of The Native Women's Association of Canada. 'It is a very sad day for all Indigenous peoples who saw the Declaration as one of their last hopes to achieving equal human rights for all peoples, especially the most marginalized, Indigenous Peoples.'

In New York today, the United Nations Third Committee made a detrimental decision on the UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples. A resolution put forward by the Namibian delegation - in effect, a no-action motion on the Declaration - was supported by a majority with 82 Nation States voting in favour, 67 Nation States voting not in favour, with 25 Nation States abstaining.

The Declaration was adopted by the UN Human Rights Council during its historic first session in June 2006. Opposition to the Declaration has been led by US, Australia, New Zealand and, since the election of the minority Conservative government, by Canada.

Contact: Linda Kayseas
Media Coordinator
The Native Women's Association of Canada
613 552 4249

Head Office:
Six Nations of the Grand River
P.O. Box 331
Ohsweken, ON N0A 1M0
Tel: 519.445.0990
Fax: 519.445.0909

Satellite Office:
1292 Wellington Street, West
Ottawa, ON K1Y3A9
Tel: 613.722.3033
Toll Free: 1.800.461.4043
Fax: 613.722.7687